Visit Craft and Art Superstars

"Apparition" by Jon Brooks

Jon Brooks

Enjoy private studio visits with designer Vivian Beer, sculptor Lauren Fensterstock, painter Alan Magee, wood sculptor Jon Brooks, and many others! In celebration of its 30th anniversary, Watershed’s Board of Trustees is thrilled to extend a special opportunity for art and craft lovers to visit the studios of many internationally recognized, local, colorful, and just plain good craft artists in Maine and New Hampshire. Experience the best of New England art and see the extraordinary contributions these artists have made to their communities!

Over the four day tour, you will have the opportunity to visit Watershed during our famous Salad Days festival, along with more than fifteen artist and craft studios, schools, museums, and galleries. Participants will also explore New England coastal towns and dine at fine restaurants that are leading the local food movement in the area.

REGISTER

 

Itinerary and venue specifics are in the planning stages and are subject to change. Registration deadline is April 30. For more information, contact tour organizer Clemmer Montague, c.l.montague@verizon.net, telephone (240) 472-9853.

Tour Highlights

  • Fensterstock

    Lauren Fensterstock

    Enjoy private studio visits with designer Vivian Beer, sculptor Lauren Fensterstock, painter Alan Magee, sculptor Jon Brooks, and many others!

  • Explore Watershed’s beautiful campus and get behind the scenes insights into the work and inspirations of the artists-in-residence in this creative community.

  • Experience Watershed’s famous Salad Days, an annual festival celebrating local food and handcrafted ceramics. Carry home one of 550 handmade plates by Kurt Anderson, enjoy a delicious picnic lunch, and shop for that special piece at the invitational pottery sale.

  • The 30th Anniversary celebration also recognizes Watershed’s Legends awardees – Paula Winokur, Wayne Higby and Jack Troy- by honoring the innovations and contributions made by these master artists to the field of ceramics.

  • Click here for a pdf of the full tour itinerary

Studio Visits

The tour includes many of New England’s art and craft superstars, including:

Manchester/Portsmouth NH area

Jon Brooks, sculptor in wood www.jonbrooks.org
Vivian Beer, furniture designer/maker www.vivianbeer.com
Christina Pitsch, ceramic sculpture, www.christinapitsch.com
Kristina Logan, lamp worked glass jewelry: www.kristinalogan.com
Michael Stasiuk, wood sculptor assemblages, http://www.michaelstasiuk.com

Coastal Maine:

Ingrid Bathe, porcelain, www.ingridbathe.com
John Bisbee, Only Nails sculptor. www.johnbisbee.com
Center for Furniture Craftsmanship, www.woodschool.org
Lauren Fensterstock, sculptor/installation, www.laurenfensterstock.com
Lissa Hunter, basketry/drawing/mixed materials www.lissahunter.com
Matt Hutton, furniture design and maker www.studio24b.com
Aaron T. Stephen, sculptor, www.aarontstephan.com
George Mason, “relief tapestries” www.georgemasonart.com
Center for Maine Contemporary Art www.cmcanow.org
Farnsworth Art Museum www.farnsworthmuseum.org
Portland Museum of Art www.portlandmuseum.org

A few more possibilities:

Jacques Versey, wood sculptor, www.jacquesversey.com
Eben Blaney furniture designer and maker, http://ebenblaney.com
Hanako Nakazato (Monohanako), www.monohanako.com
Katherine Cobey, weaver www.katharinecobey.com
Alan Magee, painting/tapestries www.alanmagee.com

 

Reservations and Payments

Cost will vary depending on the number of participants.

  • $680 per person for 20 participants
  • $730 per person for 15 participants

The cost includes daily transportation and a transfer to the airport for a 2 p.m. flight on Sunday, July 9, gratuities, 1 dinner, 3 lunches, receptions, entrance fees, and a $150 tax deductible donation to Watershed Center for Ceramic Arts.

REGISTER

 

Registration deadline: April 30, 2017

Costs not included are airfare, lodging, meals and beverages not listed, excess luggage charges, personal insurance for health, baggage and trip cancellation, and items of a personal nature.

For information on flights and hotels, please see the information under the Lodging and Travel tab below.

Payment schedule:

A payment of $175 is due with registration and is applied to your total trip fees. This payment is non-refundable and includes a $150 donation to Watershed. Should the group be 15, then we will follow up with an invoice for the remaining amount.

Payment may be by check to:
Watershed Center for Ceramic Arts,
19 Brick Hill Road,
Newcastle ME, 04553-9716
 
To pay by credit card, please call Watershed at (207) 882-6075.
 

Refunds for cancellations will be made on prepaid expenses minus the $150 per person nonrefundable donation to Watershed and a $25 administrative fee. Traveler’s cancellation insurance is highly recommended. Cancellations must be emailed to info@watershedceramics.org.

Travel and Lodging

Participants are required to make their own flight arrangements and book their own hotel rooms. These costs are not covered in the tour fees. A hyperlink with discount information for each hotel will be provided only to tour participants after registration confirmation. 
 
Flights
Plan your flights into Manchester, NH (MHT) and fly out of Portland, ME (PWM). The tour will include transportation from and to these airports. Plan to fly into Manchester no later than 3 pm and to fly out of Portland no earlier than 2 pm.
 
Lodging
The tour has negotiated discount rate for the following hotels. Internet links to book rooms for these rates will be provided to each tour guest after the April 30 registration deadline. Hotel rates for a king or two queen beds, excluding taxes and hotel fees, are:
 
July 5        
Radisson, Manchester, NH at $189 per room per night. (800) 333-3333 (US/Canada Toll-free ). Free shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel.
 
July 6                 
 
July 7-8     
Hampton Inn, Bath at $189 per room per night. (Includes breakfast). (207) 386-1310